The 2013 Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

This year’s 2013 Lucille Lortel Award Nominations are:

Outstanding Play

Produced by Women’s Project Theater Written by Laura Marks

Produced by Stuart Thompson, Jean Doumanian, Royal Court Theatre, William Berlind, Scott Delman, Dena Hammerstein, Jon B. Platt, Scott Rudin, Ted Snowdon, True Love Productions
Written by Mike Bartlett

Produced by Playwrights Horizons Written by Lisa D’Amour

The Flick
Produced by Playwrights Horizons Written by Annie Baker

The Whale
Produced by Playwrights Horizons Written by Samuel D. Hunter

Outstanding Musical

Produced by Second Stage Theatre
Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Book by Peter Duchan


Produced by The Public Theater in association with The Dallas Theater Center
Book by Sybille Pearson, Music and Lyrics by Michael John LaChiusa, Based on the novel by Edna Ferber

Murder Ballad
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club
Conceived by and with Book and Lyrics by Julia Jordan, Music and Lyrics by Juliana Nash

The Other Josh Cohen
Produced by Amas Musical Theatre in association with Scandobean Productions, LLC Book, Music and Lyrics by David Rossmer and Steve Rosen

Skippyjon Jones
Produced by TheatreworksUSA
Book and Lyrics by Kevin Del Aguila, Music by Eli Bolin

Outstanding Revival

All In The Timing
Produced by Primary Stages in association with Jamie deRoy Written by David Ives

My Children! My Africa!
Produced by Signature Theatre Written by Athol Fugard

Produced by Classic Stage Company
Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by James Lapine

The Piano Lesson
Produced by Signature Theatre Written by August Wilson

Talley’s Folly
Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company Written by Lanford Wilson

Outstanding Solo Show

All the Rage
Produced by piece by piece productions, Rising Phoenix Repertory in association with The Barrow Group Written and Performed by Martin Moran

Produced by Women’s Project Theater
Written by Elfriede Jelinek, Performed by Tina Benko

Title and Deed
Produced by Signature Theatre
Written by Will Eno, Performed by Conor Lovett

Outstanding Director

Sam Gold, The Flick
Anne Kauffman, Belleville
Tina Landau, A Civil War Christmas
James Macdonald, Cock
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, The Piano Lesson

Outstanding Choreographer

George De La Peña, A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Christopher Gattelli, Dogfight
Kyle Mullins, TRIASSIC PARQ: The Musical
Alex Sanchez, Giant

Doug Varone, Murder Ballad

Outstanding Lead Actor

Danny Burstein, Talley’s Folly

Brandon J. Dirden, The Piano Lesson
Daniel Everidge, Falling
Shuler Hensley, The Whale
Aasif Mandvi, DisgracedOutstanding Lead ActressQuincy Tyler Bernstine, NevaAmerica Ferrera, Bethany
Vanessa Redgrave, The RevisionistRoslyn Ruff, The Piano LessonSharon Washington, Wild With Happy

Outstanding Featured Actor

David Wilson Barnes, Don’t Go Gentle
Chuck Cooper, The Piano Lesson
Zach Grenier, Storefront Church
Jake Gyllenhaal, If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet

Mark Nelson, My Name Is Asher Lev

Outstanding Featured Actress

Eisa Davis, Luck of the Irish
Annie Funke, If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet

Rebecca Naomi Jones, Murder Ballad
Amanda Quaid, Luck of the Irish
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, What Rhymes with America

Outstanding Scenic Design

Beowulf Boritt, If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet

Miriam Buether, Cock
Clint Ramos, Wild With Happy
Louisa Thompson, Detroit

Mark Wendland, Murder Ballad

Outstanding Costume Design

Toni-Leslie James, A Civil War Christmas
Jessica Pabst, The Whale
Clint Ramos, Wild With Happy
Emily Rebholz, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike
Anita Yavich, Golden Child

Outstanding Lighting Design

Jane Cox, The Flick
Rui Rita, The Piano Lesson
Ben Stanton, Belleville
Ben Stanton, Murder Ballad
Scott Zielinski, A Civil War Christmas

Outstanding Sound Design

Leah Gelpe, Slowgirl
Bray Poor, The Flick
Shane Rettig, Detroit ’67
Jane Shaw, Jackie
Matt Tierney, Detroit

Lifetime Achievement Award

Todd Haimes

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Neil LaBute

Outstanding Body of Work Award

Theatre Development Fund

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience

Old Hats

Created and performed by Bill Irwin and David Shiner Music by and featuring Nellie McKay
Produced by Signature Theatre

Keep your show organized with the Theatermaker's fool-proof management system

Improve your success rate for getting produced with daily strategy tips.

Send me the system

Related Posts


Ken created one of the first Broadway podcasts, recording over 250 episodes over 7 years. It features interviews with A-listers in the theater about how they “made it”, including 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners, 7 Academy Award Winners and 76 Tony Award winners. Notable guests include Pasek & Paul, Kenny Leon, Lynn Ahrens and more.